iPhone Duo review: specs, price and release date
Apple's first foldable iPhone: 7.6″ and 5.4″ displays, A20 Pro, Touch ID, 254 g, from €2,299. Launch dates, Estonian price, and how it compares with 18 Pro Max and Z Fold8.

The industry has waited almost a decade for this. On 9 September 2026 Apple officially unveiled the iPhone Duo — its first book-style foldable iPhone and, in Apple's own words, the most transformational change to iPhone since the original. The device blurs the line between a classic smartphone and a compact tablet: a familiar 5.4-inch phone on the outside, a 7.6-inch screen with no camera cutout on the inside.
Below we cover only Apple-confirmed specifications, real European prices and launch dates, and compare the Duo honestly with the iPhone 18 Pro Max and the Samsung Galaxy Z Fold8. If you searched for “iPhone Fold” — it is the same device: that was its name in the rumour mill before launch.
Design and displays: titanium, a hidden hinge and a nearly invisible crease
Apple's engineers focused on the two main complaints about foldables — fragility and a visible crease on the inner screen. The iPhone Duo's body is Grade 5 titanium with a mirror-polished finish, the front glass is Ceramic Shield 2 (three times more scratch-resistant than the previous generation, according to Apple) and the back is Ceramic Shield. The hinge has more than 100 components and its cover is 3D-printed from recycled titanium. Opened, it is the thinnest iPhone ever made — just 5.2 mm.
The crease. Apple does not promise it is gone, but uses two tricks: a custom nano-texture finish on the inner display (borrowed from the Studio Display) and optically clear adhesives that let the display layers glide as the screen folds. Early hands-on reviews agree: the crease is still visible in certain lighting, but it is hidden noticeably better than on Samsung's foldables, and the matte surface looks like a flat sheet of paper. The IP68 rating — up to 6 metres for 30 minutes — is rare among foldables.

| Specification | iPhone Duo |
|---|---|
| Inner display | 7.6″ OLED, 2670×1878 (430 ppi), ProMotion 1–120 Hz, nano-texture, Always On |
| Outer display | 5.4″ OLED, 2034×1398 (460 ppi), ProMotion 1–120 Hz, Always On |
| Brightness | 1000 nits typical, 1600 nits HDR, 3000 nits outdoor (both displays) |
| Body | Grade 5 titanium, Ceramic Shield 2 front, Ceramic Shield back, IP68 (6 m / 30 min) |
| Dimensions open | 164.6 × 117.8 × 5.2 mm |
| Dimensions closed | 84.1 × 117.8 × 11.3 mm |
| Weight | 254 g |
| Biometrics | Touch ID in the side button |
| Buttons | Camera Control yes, Action Button no |
Both displays share the same aspect ratio: an app open on the outer screen simply continues on the inner one when you unfold the phone, without re-layout. The outer display covers 90 % of the iPhone 18 Pro's screen area — closed, the Duo feels like a normal compact iPhone rather than the “narrow remote” early Galaxy Folds were criticised for.
A20 Pro, iOS 27 and Split View: two apps on one screen
At the heart of the iPhone Duo is the 2-nanometre Apple A20 Pro — the same chip as in the iPhone 18 Pro: a 6-core CPU (20 % faster than the A19 Pro), a 7-core GPU with Neural Accelerators (40 % faster) and a dual 16-core Neural Engine with twice the compute. For the first time an iPhone has a vapour chamber — Apple claims up to 35 % better sustained performance than the iPhone 17 Pro. As usual, Apple does not disclose RAM; supply-chain reports put it at 12 GB.

iOS 27 has been redesigned for the foldable form factor. The headline feature is Split View: two apps side by side with drag and drop between them (a photo from your library straight into Mail, for example). The Dynamic Island is now vertical, StandBy gets new Calendar and Weather faces, and a half-open Duo stands on its own — in the “Seated” position for video and workouts, in “Standing” for StandBy. Apple Pencil (USB-C) support is promised later this year.

Apple Intelligence on the Duo means the new Siri AI (in beta in iOS 27), which understands what is on screen and can act inside apps: create a calendar event from a chat, rewrite text, find a photo by description. Processing happens on device or in Private Cloud Compute, with no data shared with third parties.
Cameras: 48 MP Dual Fusion and tricks only a foldable can do
Don't confuse it with the iPhone 18 Pro: the Duo has two cameras, not three. The main one is a 48 MP Fusion Main (26 mm, ƒ/1.6, sensor-shift OIS) from which Apple derives an optical-quality 12 MP 2× telephoto (52 mm). The second is a 48 MP Fusion Ultra Wide (13 mm, ƒ/2.2, 120°) with macro. That gives a 4× optical-quality zoom range and digital zoom up to 10×. Video is 4K at 120 fps in Dolby Vision, and the cinematic effect can be applied after capture.

- Duo PreviewWhile you shoot, the outer display shows a live preview to the person being photographed, so they can fix their pose and framing themselves.
- Smart TakeThe camera detects the moment everyone in the frame is ready and takes the shot itself — no timer, no “one more”.
- Kid CuePlayful animations on the outer display draw a child's eyes to the lens — parents will appreciate it.
- Hidden FaceTime cameraOn the inner display the camera (ƒ/1.8) sits under the panel — no cutouts while you watch content.
- Center Stage outsideA 12 MP front camera on the outer display with automatic orientation detection and group selfies.

Battery, charging and connectivity: dual batteries and eSIM only
There are two batteries — one in each half. Apple does not quote mAh but gives runtime figures: up to 44 hours of video on the outer display, up to 31 hours on the inner display and up to 24 hours with equal use of both. Fast charging reaches 50 % in about 20 minutes with a 60 W adapter; MagSafe and Qi2 go up to 25 W (50 % in 30 minutes with a 35 W adapter). The USB-C port runs at USB 3 speed (10 Gb/s).
Connectivity: Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread, NFC and 5G on Apple's own C2 modem. Important for Estonia: the iPhone Duo is eSIM-only — there is no physical SIM slot in any region. Telia, Elisa and Tele2 all support eSIM, but if you are moving from an older phone, check that your plan allows profile transfer. iPhone Handoff lets you switch between two iPhones on the same number.

iPhone Duo or iPhone 18 Pro Max: which to choose
The key question for anyone buying a flagship in 2026. The Duo costs roughly €700 more than a Pro Max in the same configuration, and trails it in three areas: no Face ID, no true telephoto lens and less battery headroom when the big screen is used heavily.
| Parameter | iPhone Duo | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Form factor | Foldable: 7.6″ inside + 5.4″ outside | Slab, 6.9″ |
| Chip | A20 Pro | A20 Pro |
| Cameras | 48 MP Main + 48 MP Ultra Wide, 2× optical quality | 48 MP Main + 48 MP Ultra Wide + 48 MP Telephoto 4×, up to 8× optical quality |
| Biometrics | Touch ID | Face ID |
| Video (Apple) | up to 44 h outer / 31 h inner | up to 45 h |
| Weight | 254 g | 249 g |
| Multitasking | Split View, two windows | Standard iOS |
| Price 256 GB (Apple IE) | €2,369 | €1,639 |
The Pro Max remains the pick for anyone who wants the best zoom camera, Face ID and a rugged slab. The Duo is for people who read, work with documents, watch video and want an iPad-mini-sized screen in their pocket. Weight is nearly identical and the chip is the same.
iPhone Duo vs Samsung Galaxy Z Fold8
Samsung has been making book-style foldables since 2019, and on pure engineering the Z Fold8 is thinner and lighter: 201 g versus 254 g, 4.5 mm versus 5.2 mm open. Apple answers with denser displays (430/460 ppi versus 404/428), an under-display inner camera instead of a cutout, stylus support, IP68 with 6-metre immersion and, above all, the ecosystem: iMessage, FaceTime, AirDrop, Apple Watch and Mac. European pricing: Z Fold8 from €1,929, Duo from €2,299.
| Parameter | iPhone Duo | Galaxy Z Fold8 |
|---|---|---|
| Inner display | 7.6″, 2670×1878, 430 ppi | 7.6″, 2448×1848, 404 ppi |
| Outer display | 5.4″, 460 ppi | 5.5″, 428 ppi |
| Thickness closed / open | 11.3 / 5.2 mm | 9.7 / 4.5 mm |
| Weight | 254 g | 201 g |
| Battery | undisclosed (dual battery) | 4,800 mAh |
| Cameras | 48 + 48 MP | 50 + 50 MP |
| Stylus | Apple Pencil (later this year) | no |
| EU price from | €2,299 | €1,929 |
iPhone Duo price in Estonia and release dates
In the US the iPhone Duo starts at $1,999. Apple's official European prices for the 256 GB model are €2,299 in Germany, €2,369 in Ireland and €2,419 in Finland — the difference is VAT only. For Estonia (24 % VAT) expect around €2,399 for 256 GB; official Estonian retail pricing will appear closer to launch, as there is no Apple Store in Estonia.
| Storage | Apple Ireland (23 % VAT) | Apple Finland (25.5 % VAT) |
|---|---|---|
| 256 GB | €2,369 | €2,419 |
| 512 GB | €2,619 | €2,669 |
| 1 TB | €3,119 | €3,169 |
| 2 TB | €3,869 | €3,919 |
Pre-orders open on Friday 16 October 2026 (3 pm Tallinn time in Europe), sales start on 23 October in more than 70 countries, with 28 more countries following on 30 October. Apple has not published the full list of second-wave countries, so we will confirm Estonia's exact date as soon as it is announced. Official accessories: iPhone Duo Case at $79 and iPhone Duo Folio with Kickstand at $129.

Verdict
What we like
- A full-size 5.4″ outer display — closed, it is a normal iPhone, not a “remote”
- Thinnest iPhone ever when open (5.2 mm) and IP68 to 6 metres
- Under-display inner camera — 7.6″ with no cutout
- Split View with drag and drop, Duo Preview and Smart Take
- The same A20 Pro as the 18 Pro, plus a vapour chamber
- Up to 44 hours of video and 50 % charge in 20 minutes
What to consider
- No Face ID — Touch ID in the side button only
- No true telephoto lens; 2× is cropped from the main sensor
- 254 g and 11.3 mm closed: heavier and thicker than the Galaxy Z Fold8
- eSIM only
- Price: roughly €700 more than the iPhone 18 Pro Max
- Apple does not disclose RAM or battery capacity
The iPhone Duo is not an attempt to catch up with Samsung but a rethink of the book-style form factor for Apple's ecosystem: matching display proportions, a hidden camera, a proper outer display and an iOS 27 that knows how to handle two windows. The price of that is weight, no Face ID and a bill of around €2,400.
Should you switch from a Pro Max? If you read a lot, work with documents, watch video or simply want to be the first in Estonia with a foldable iPhone in your pocket — yes. If a zoom camera and maximum battery life matter more, the iPhone 18 Pro Max at €1,650 remains the more rational buy.
iPhones in the iStore.ee catalogue
While the iPhone Duo makes its way to Estonia, current iPhone models ship from supplier stock with parcel-locker delivery from €2.99.
Apple iPhone 15 128 GB smartphone, blue
Apple iPhone 15 128GB Black 5G smartphone

Apple iPhone 16 Black 6.1" Super Retina XDR smartphone

Apple iPhone 16 White 6.1" OLED 128GB smartphone

Apple iPhone 16 Pink 6.1" OLED 128GB smartphone

Apple iPhone 16 Teal 128GB 6.1" Super Retina XDR
iPhone 17 256GB Mist Blue 5G smartphone

Apple iPhone 16 Plus Black 6.7" 128GB 5G smartphone
iPhone Duo FAQ
When does the iPhone Duo go on sale in Estonia?
Apple opens pre-orders on 16 October 2026; sales start on 23 October in 70+ countries and on 30 October in 28 more. Apple has not published the full second-wave list, so for Estonia plan for late October — we will update this article as soon as the date is confirmed.
How much does the iPhone Duo cost?
From $1,999 in the US. In Europe Apple sells the 256 GB model for €2,299 (Germany), €2,369 (Ireland) and €2,419 (Finland). For Estonia with 24 % VAT expect around €2,399. The 2 TB model is about €3,900.
Does the iPhone Duo have Face ID?
No. It unlocks with Touch ID built into the side button, like the iPad Air. Apple Pay and password autofill work the same way, just with your fingerprint.
Is the crease visible?
Apple uses a nano-texture finish and optically clear adhesives to minimise it. Early hands-on reports say it is still visible in certain lighting, but noticeably less than on the Samsung Galaxy Z Fold.
How many apps can run at once?
Split View in iOS 27 shows two apps side by side with drag and drop between them. Three simultaneous windows, as on some Android foldables, are not supported.
Does the iPhone Duo support Apple Pencil?
Yes, Apple has promised Apple Pencil (USB-C) support in a software update by the end of 2026.
Is there a SIM card slot?
No, the iPhone Duo is eSIM-only in every country. Telia, Elisa and Tele2 in Estonia all support eSIM.
What is the difference between iPhone Duo and iPhone Fold?
None: “iPhone Fold” and “iPhone Ultra” were names from pre-launch leaks. The official name is iPhone Duo.
Is the iPhone Duo waterproof?
It is rated IP68: up to 6 metres for 30 minutes — better than most foldable phones.
Want an iPhone Duo among the first?
We are tracking the Estonian launch date and will update this article as soon as official pricing appears. In the meantime, browse the current iPhones in the catalogue.
See iPhones in the catalogueⓘ Specifications and prices are from official Apple sources as of 13 September 2026 (apple.com, Apple Newsroom, Apple Store Ireland and Finland) and GSMArena (Galaxy Z Fold8). The Estonian price is an editorial estimate based on the VAT rate; actual retail prices may differ. Photos: Apple Newsroom, iPhone Duo press materials.